Yes! I am canning corn, we love corn in this house and it has been on major sales this month. If I could have grown my own corn I wouldve been much happier, but that is almost impossible to do with 3×6 balconey. Which is already half full of plants, that need much less space to grow.

So I resort to store bought,Β  which will still work just as fine.

image

I start by shucking all the corn,

image

Its okay if a few silks stay stuck, they will come off when you blanch the corn. This is the next step. Place in boiling water for about 3 minutes,

image

then transfer to ice cold water!!!

While this is going on you shoukd sanitize your cans/jars. This is also donenin boiling water, BUT you need yo add the jars, lids, rings, and water and boil together, so the glass doesnt break.

After you blanch the corn you need the cut the kernels off. Someone suggested I use a cookie sheet to catch the kernels, its worked pretty well so far.

image

Cut about 3/4 of the way into the kernel. Then fill the cans you have untill about 1/2 in from the top. fill the can with boiling water.

image

(Yes there is a ton of water involved!) Cover and set in either pressure cooker, or large pot. I dont remember the rest for pressure cookers, but here is a great site that does!!! www.simplycanning.com i learned a lot from her, she has some really great tips!

To continue with the large pot method as I called it, add cans to the large pot, cover with water, and start to boil keep it boiling for 1 hour and 45 minutes.

image

After all that work! You will have lovely canned corn! And it is scrumptious!!

